History and Board members


The CYBA league has over 1,000 boys and girls and every team is sponsored by local businesses and service organizations.  Sponsorship information is available upon request.

CYBA provides recreational opportunities for boys and girls in grades 1 - 12.


CYBA was founded in 1992, by Dean Berry. It originated with approximately 5 to 6 teams. With Dean's financial backing and organization, "the league" became a reality.

"The League" soon became known as the Columbia Youth Basketball Association. With the support of Coach Bob Burchard from Columbia College, the City of Columbia's Parks and Recreation Department and Columbia Public Schools, the league has grown to over 100 teams and over 1000 players every season!

CYBA is run by an Administrative Director, an Executive Board, as well as a Board of Directors. Board meetings are held five times a year; January, April, June, September and November at the Columbia Sports Fieldhouse.  If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, please contact CYBA at 875-8124 or for additional details.

Executive Board Members for 2021-22


Vice President-Kevin Pistole

Secretary-Dean Berry

Treasurer-Lori Berry

Executive Board Liason-Jessica Schepker

At Large

JR Wright

Aaron Tatum

Joshua Moore

April Sarff

Milene Camp

Jim Chapdelaine

Nikole Cronk

Wayne Baum  

Gene Alexander-

Jason Herman

Administrative Director

Carie Copeland



League Referees

Joey Wilmes , Recreation Supervisor Sports Programming

Parks & Recreation Coordinator

Gary Chase-Scheduling